Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards

The Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program allows NAMI members, NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates throughout the country to honor the exceptional contributions that many psychiatrists make to improve the lives of people living with mental health conditions. 

Since the Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program was established in 1990, more than 1,000 awards have been presented. Many psychiatrists have described this award as one of the most important honors that they can receive because it comes from the people who need their help the most.

All of the nominations are submitted through a NAMI State Organization or NAMI Affiliate office. For more information about NAMI's Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program, contact Liz Taylor.

NAMI honored 18 doctors as exemplary psychiatrists for their NAMI 2015 Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards.


Paul Erickson, M.D.


Christopher Kye, M.D., P.A.
Rajiv Tandon, M.D.


Denis Mee-Lee, M.D., M.S., C.P.I.


Michael Flaum, M.D.


Feiteng Su, M.D.
Michael Kuna, M.D.


Steven S. Sharfstein, M.D.


Benita Dieperink, M.D.
Michael K. Popkin, M.D.

North Carolina

Keshavpal Reddy, M.D.
Gerald I. Plovsky, M.D.

New Hampshire

Robert E. Drake, M.D., Ph.D.

New York

Stephen Dvorin, M.D.


Suzanne Vogel-Scibilia, M.D.
Ellen Berman, M.D.
Mary Anne Albaugh, M.D.
Penelope Chapman, M.D.