NAMI Names Exemplary Psychiatrists for 2015

May 22, 2015

NAMI is proud to honor 17 psychiatrists from 10 states with Exemplary Psychiatrists Awards for 2015.

Honorees stand out as “going the extra mile” to providing excellent mental health care to individuals living with mental illness. They work tirelessly to eliminate stigma and discrimination and work with NAMI in their communities to raise public awareness of mental health conditions and advocate for improvements in the mental health care system.

The origins of the word “psychiatrist” mean healing of the mind, soul or spirit, which today can encompass both medical treatment and an overall process of recovery. “Exemplary” means “extremely good” and “deserving to be admired and copied,” which in the case of NAMI’s awards helps to set a standard of professional excellence and public service.

NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates nominate each year’s honorees. This is the 36th year that the awards have been presented.

Paul Erickson, M.D. –Santa Barbara

Rajiv Tandon, M.D.—Newberry
Christopher Kye, M.D., P.A.—Palm Beach

Denis Mee-Lee, M.D., M.S., C.P.I.—Honolulu

Michael Flaum, M.D.—Iowa City

Feiteng Sui, M.D.—Champaign
Michael Kuna, M.D.—Rockford

Steven S. Sharfstein, M.D.—Baltimore

Benita Dieperink, M.D.—Minneapolis
Michael K. Popkin, M.D.—Minneapolis

North Carolina:
Keshavpal Reddy, M.D.—Greensboro
Gerald Plovsky, M.D.—Greensboro

New Hampshire:
Robert E. Drake, M.D., Ph.D.—Lebanon

Suzanne Vogel-Scibilia, M.D.—Beaver
Ellen Berman, M.D.—Merion Station
Mary Anna Albaugh, M.D.—Erie
Penelope Chapman, M.D.–Erie

NAMI HelpLine is available M-F, 10 a.m. – 10 p.m. ET. Call 800-950-6264,
text “helpline” to 62640, or chat online. In a crisis, call or text 988 (24/7).