New Officers & Directors Elected to NAMI Board

Jim McNulty Of Rhode Island Is New Board President

Jul 08 2001

Arlington, VA - Delegates to the national convention of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI) in Washington, D.C. on July 11-15, 2001 elected four new members to the organization's board of directors, along with two incumbents, to three-year terms.

NAMI also inaugurated a new leadership team, with Jim McNulty of Bristol, Rhode Island chosen to succeed Jacqueline Shannon of San Angelo, Texas as president of the 16-member board.

"NAMI faces a new era of growth and advocacy," McNulty said. "We are very grateful to Jackie Shannon for leading NAMI's transition from its first 20 years of existence into a new decade and new century. NAMI has a solid foundation on which to continue build a movement of consumers, families, and friends to challenge stigma and to fight for greater investments in research and treatment."

McNulty, who serves on the National Advisory Committee to the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and as president of the Manic Depressive & Depressive Association (MDDA) of Rhode Island, is a consumer who has lived with bipolar disorder his entire adult life. He previously has served as treasurer and as a member of NAMI's Consumer Council.

"I personally have faced the devastation that can result from mental illness," McNulty said. "So have the other members of NAMJ's board of directors and our 220,000 members throughout the country. Our collective experience and insights offer tremendous power for change."

NAMI Board Officers

Jim McNulty, Rhode Island, President
Margaret Stout, Iowa, First Vice-President
Patricia Warburg Cliff, New York, Second Vice-President
Darlene Prettyman, California, Secretary
Carla Jacobs, California, Treasurer

Reelected Board Members

Dr. Ed Foulks, Louisiana 
Patricia Warburg Cliff, New York

Newly Elected Board Members

Steve Miller, Iowa (Consumer Council representative)
Fred Sandoval, New Mexico
Eileen Silber, North Carolina
Dr. Suzanne Vogel-Scibilia, Pennsylvania

Incumbents (through 2002 or 2003)

Silvia Arias, Puerto Rico
Moe Armstrong, Massachusetts
Carla Jacobs, California
Peggy LeGrande, New York
Jim McNulty, Rhode Island
Betsy Smith, Connecticut
Margaret Stout, Iowa
Gerald Tarutis, Washington
Gloria Walker, Ohio