Press Releases

NAMI Re-elects Keris Myrick as National Board President; New Board Members Hail From Colorado, Florida, Montana and New Mexico.

Jul 15 2013

ARLINGTON, Va., July 15, 2013 -- The Board of Directors of the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) has re-elected Keris Jan Myrick, Ph.D.c of California to a second one-year term as the national organization's Board President. 

Myrick is president and CEO of Project Return Peer Support Network in Pasadena.

Election of board officers occurred at NAMI's recent national convention in San Antonio, June 27-30, following election of new board members by the organization's grassroots membership.

Other officers of the NAMI board for 2013-14 are:

  • Jim Payne, J.D. of Virginia, First Vice President.
  • Linda Welsch Jensen, Ph.D., R.N. of Nebraska, Second Vice President.
  • Ralph E. Nelson, Jr., M.D. of California, Treasurer.<
  • Marilyn Ricci, M.S., R.D. of Connecticut, Secretary.

Newly-elected board members are:

  • Lacey Berumen Ph.D.c, MNM, CAC III of Colorado.
  • Joyce Burland, Ph.D. of New Mexico.
  • Dana Foglesong CRP S-A, of Florida.
  • Gary Mihelish, D.M.D. of Montana.

NAMI Board members are elected for three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. Incumbent members who were elected to second terms at the convention are:

  • Linda Welsch Jensen, Ph.D. R.N. of Nebraska.
  • Michael Weaver, M.S. Ed., of North Carolina.

Incumbents whose terms carry-over onto the new board are:

  • Kym Bolado of Texas.
  • Carol Caruso of Pennsylvania.
  • Janet Edelman of Maryland.
  • Victoria Gonzalez of New Hampshire.
  • Ron Morton of Tennessee.
  • Gloria Walker of Ohio.

About NAMI

NAMI is the nation's largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness. NAMI advocates for access to services, treatment, supports and research and is steadfast in its commitment to raising awareness and building a community of hope.